Swapping in an M22 in place of a TH350

bobs409

Administrator
I've been toying with the idea of putting a new M-22 4 speed in my 66 Chevelle/409 instead of the TH350 that's in there now. (been a dream of mine for a while now) :deal

A few questions; will the driveshaft currently on the car mate up with an M22 in length and yoke spline count? The TH350 in there now has the 6 inch tail housing if that helps.

What bell housing will I need for the 409?

Car only has a 3.08 posi currently (plans to go 3.73 or 4.11 in future) What first gear ratio in the trans is best?

Lastly, I might as well ask for any leads on the best place to purchase a new M22. I've been searching the net and prices seem to range from $1795.00-$2095.00 give or take. That's brand new top to bottom and no core charge.

As you may have been able to tell, I'm a 4 speed novice. I could drive em since age 12 but not up on the technical stuff. :D Please enlighten me...

oldskydog

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 10
I've been toying with the idea of putting a new M-22 4 speed in my 66 Chevelle/409 instead of the TH350 that's in there now. (been a dream of mine for a while now) :deal

A few questions; will the driveshaft currently on the car mate up with an M22 in length and yoke spline count? The TH350 in there now has the 6 inch tail housing if that helps.

What bell housing will I need for the 409?

Car only has a 3.08 posi currently (plans to go 3.73 or 4.11 in future) What first gear ratio in the trans is best?

Lastly, I might as well ask for any leads on the best place to purchase a new M22. I've been searching the net and prices seem to range from $1795.00-$2095.00 give or take. That's brand new top to bottom and no core charge.

As you may have been able to tell, I'm a 4 speed novice. I could drive em since age 12 but not up on the technical stuff. :D Please enlighten me...

Bob,
Attached is a chart of transmission specs. Autogear http://www.autogear.net/muncieproducts.htm