Lifter noise-Chasing the noise- Round 4

Iowa409

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 3
So, I have adjusted my lifters 3 times now, I still hear some noise.
I have one valve cover off and most rockers still feel good but 2 mechanically noisey, no problem there, adjust, done.
That is enough to take another crack at it.

I will say because I am new to the motor somewhat, I think they are noisey motors, that being said, I do not believe my engine is anymore noisey than the next motor, but im doing a few upgrades, so might as well see if I have developed a better finger calibration, and truly understand what 0.50 is.

I have tried 3 or four different versions or the CORRECT way to adjust, meaning the order, or no order depending on the method used, do you guys like the every 90 degree method, or the procedure on this site following the firing order, intake/exhaust method?

pvs409

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 11
I had what sounded like lifter noise (ticking) on my 62 impala 327/300 HP motor -turned out it was the pulleys on the crankshaft
were loose.
My local good local car repair shop friend used a set of ear phones to find noise -found it was pulleys loose.

Iowa409

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 3
Good responses guys, most of these has been checked and double checked, my biggest thing im fighting I think is ME......
It seems to me these motors have some noises of their own, and i dont want to hear it, so i keep tinkering

Iowa409

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 3