Blackie 1955

Rich Rogers

Hi everyone, I'm another newbie here so hopefully I won't make any mistakes. I've been into old hot rods and muscle cars for over 45 years and currently own a 55 Chevy 210 with a mild small block, M-22 trans and a 4:33 rear that was basically home built from the bare frame with a few updates like front disc brake conversion, totally re-wired etc. The small block is getting real tired and I WAS going to do a 4 bolt 350 , with new internals, plus my tunnelram. I've run into the "possibility" of scoring a honest to God Z-11 engine that's been sitting totally apart for years. The owner was a builder that passed away and everything I guess was just left in his shop. Assuming that all of the parts are still there, I have NO idea of what to offer his widow or what would be a fair price . Can someone steer me in the right direction on value ? and if I score the Z-11 I'll be sure to post pics and other info as I try to put this monster back together...Thank you in advance !!

Phil Reed

Well Seasoned Member
Supporting Member 10
Welcome!!!!
If your info is true.......you are wonderful position!!!!!!
Basically.......the Z-11 heads had the very first big block intake ports design. The intake was special too.....the lower part was a valley cover that covered the top of the block. The intake was a separate piece that the carbs mounted to. These are the major things.
Lot of Z-11 pictures here....just do a search.

Last edited:

Rich Rogers

Thank you for the replies !!! Again I have NO IDEA of what the bare block or even the rotating assembly would be worth. If I could get that info, I'd be a lot farther ahead.......Thanks again !!

Iowa 409 Guy

Well Seasoned Member
Supporting Member 15