Power Lurking

KTEN

Greetings from New England. I have been eyeing this site for a few years now. I'd rather learn from the experts than prove that I am not one. I'm a GM truck guy. I have a '61 4 wheel drive Chevy 1/2 ton longbed that started the addiction. I was deep into paying and waiting for that 7 year project when i spotted a 1945 GMC 1/2 pickup on the side of Route 1. I made an offer and bought it and started driving it. And updating it. A rolling restoration mind you. Something i wished the K10 had undergone. But the '45 eventually got a 302 c.i version of the original engine. A 3.55 gearset and a rare Truckstell overdrive went in as well. Some NOS parts and new paint helped out. And last year a new 13 gallon fuel tank was welded up by my welder/mechanic and put in along with the original 18 gallon tank. So now the truck can cruise at any speed you'd like. -Under 100 mph. Go for 400 miles without refueling. It's still 6 volt positive ground but with an alternator.
So where's the 409 stuff, you say. Well I was wandering around on the GM Phot archives site one day and spotted a couple of photos of a 1960 GMC 1/2 ton in red and white 2 tone paint. It really caught my eye having always liked the early 60's trucks. My Dad had purchased one a couple of months before I was born. So it was really a part of my childhood.