1962 Hood Question

john wise

Well Known Member
I bought a set of reproduction hood hinges for my 62. I compared them to my old ones and they look spot on. I'm going to use my original hood springs as they were fine, besides I've heard bad reviews about repo hood springs. My question is this...on the new ones I had one hell of a time trying to open them up. I finally got them extended, bolted one on , minus the spring, and I could not push the hinge down to the position it would be in if the hood was closed. anyone know if they should be this tight. Do I just need the leverage of the hood to collapse them. Thanks in advance.

blkblk63ss

Well Seasoned Member
Supporting Member 5
I would secure those in a vise and see if you can oil the rivets and get the hinges to open and close freely by hand without the springs attached of course. Maybe you could attach a leverage bar to mounting bracket to help moving them and working the oil in them. I have no experience with repops but I know all of the original hinges I have cleaned and painted work freely without springs on them. Other might have more advice on repops.

john wise

Well Known Member
I would secure those in a vise and see if you can oil the rivets and get the hinges to open and close freely by hand without the springs attached of course. Maybe you could attach a leverage bar to mounting bracket to help moving them and working the oil in them. I have no experience with repops but I know all of the original hinges I have cleaned and painted work freely without springs on them. Other might have more advice on repops.
Thanks, I will give it a try

Reactions: 327

rsavage

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 5