1960 El Camino

Greetings All,
I have a '60 El Camino that I'd like to get back on the road. Currently sitting with a tranny problem, I think the shifting forks are stuck between gears. I'm a novice at best, have lots of time and little cash, this may take a while to play out.
Here's what I know about the running gear. Originally a 235 six with three on the tree, now 350 with 4-speed Muncie. When I bought her she was taching really high at highway speed, a friend helpped me change out the rear end. After reading a little here I think the original r/e was 3.36, and it now has a 3.55. I know I have tranny work to do, and I'd like some input. Ultimately I'd like to have a period correct 348. I think a 3.70 r/e is the correct ratio for a 348/4 speed. Do I change the r/e, or do go to a Powerglide or some other combination? Your thoughts and input would be greatly appreciated.
My friends call me Bubba, Thanks again.

64ss409

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 9
Welcome Michael

I like the Caminos. Lot of good info here. If you have a 4 speed in it now, I would leave it.
You may have it stuck in 2 gears. If you jack it up, you should be able to get both levers in neutral.

Don Jacks

Well Seasoned Member
Supporting Member 3
3.36 would be a decent highway gear on a car without overdrive,and yes,check that shifter linkage.

k9hotrodder409

Well Known Member
Supporting Member 15
WElcome to the site "Bubba".:clap Great group here and lots of info on the "W" engine. :hugEnjoy the ride.

:crazy:cheers

Welcome Michael

I like the Caminos. Lot of good info here. If you have a 4 speed in it now, I would leave it.
You may have it stuck in 2 gears. If you jack it up, you should be able to get both levers in neutral.

Thanks, 64ss409. I dig the Impalas too, would yours be a 425 hp version?, B..A.. Do I need to have both rear wheels off the ground?

Thanks, for the warm welcome guys. I'll try not to ask too many boneheaded questions.